1911 Forums : 1911Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My B-Day is coming up and my wife wants to know what I want...I think it is finally time to get a .22 pistol. I have been going back and forth between a revolver (Smith's 617 or 317) and the Buckmark or Mark III. The gun would be for target and maybe a little hunting down the road.

I don't have a revolver yet so I have been thinking about the Smiths. However, I was looking at the Mark IIIs today and was really impressed. I've heard tons of good things about them. The only thing that concerns me about them is the supposed difficulty in field stripping and putting back together again.

From what I understand, the Buckmark is not as difficult to maintain as the Mark III and I have read favorable reviews on the Browning as well.

Which of the three would your choose for your first .22? I am still learning about handguns and want an easy to use, accurate, fun gun that will last.

·
Registered
4,029 Posts
Well i went with a MArk II .. I dont like the Mark III take down you hear people complain about the MKII the 3 is worse.. A used MKII is still a good Buy

The 617 is a nice pistol to i have one of the last years of the 17 you can't beat either of them I highly reccomend the Smith they make some excellent wheelies ..

As for the buckmark i never had one so can't comment

·
Registered
78 Posts
I have two of the Ruger Mark III 22/45's. I like the grip angle better on them than the other models. They add a few more steps to the disassembly due to the mag safety. It's not that bad after you have done it. They are great shooters and mine will shoot about any ammo. I shoot the bulk Federals from Wallyworld. Mine have several thousand round through them with no issues. I do regret not getting the stainless models though.

·
Premium Member
1,556 Posts