1911 Forums : 1911Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the 1911 world. I recently bought a M1911A1 RIA in nickel. I only have 100 rds. through it, I already like it! My gun shop has a RIA Super 38
in black for $405.00 plus tax. I do not know much about the round. I have been told it is the first "Magnum". And Colt came out with it in the 30's. It appears they are inexpensive rounds, @ $19.00 per 50. At this point I believe it would be a range gun. Do not know if it would be the right choice for carry.
I am not sure about having to stock up on another round! Any comments would be appreciated. D

·
Premium Member
751 Posts
.38 is an awesome round. It is super powerfull for its size. The foot punds on target near that of a 45. It is not the cheepest ammo by far. I reloas it. It is what I and a whole lot of others use to shoot competition. Recoil is less than 45 so you can get back on target quicker and you can make major with it in same competitions. Try it, you will like it. Mirando

·
Premium Member
751 Posts
They are .356 as is 9MM. However, my gun seems to shot better with .357 sized bullets when I use LRN, MK

·
Registered
143 Posts
Sorry Mirando,but actually in terms of defensive rounds.....Supers typicly hit harder than .45's. Ammo is VERY EXPENSIVE. I have found Fiocchi as low as $16.50 per.,but Winchester and Remingtons can run from $26-$38 per. The .38Super is very well known for it's very high chamber pressures,ergo very high feet per second numbers,ergo very flat trejectory. Which means she's very accurate over greater distances,and retains higher impact forces at greater distances.Just follow this link,it might help.http://www.38super.net/index.html

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·