1911 Forums : 1911Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to shooting, been shooting just about a year. I have been to 2 USPSA matches recently. They are very hard for me but I want to learn how to shoot better and have fun.

the main problem that I am having with USPSA is that the stages are too hard for me and require to many rounds.

from my understanding, IDPA is more realistic and doesn't require as many round and is also (somewhat) easier than USPSA.

Just wanted your opinion. I am practicing more and more to compete and better myself.

·
Registered
883 Posts
I started with USPSA and have still never shot a IDPA match. How many rounds are they using per stage? We have a cap of 20 per stage and we only have 4 stages per match. It does depand on the area that your in and the size of the match that they put on. One thing with IDPA you have to do is retain your mags if there are any rounds left in them at all. Good luck with your choice and safe shooting.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The last match was a 130 round min. 4 stages, about 25-30 each stage. I brought 200 and got away with a little under 50 left.

·
Registered
692 Posts
I much prefer USPSA 'freestyle' shooting to the more structured IDPA style.

USPSA or IPSC is sort of run and gun. You certainly don't have to run if you can't run well or don't want to. I usually take my time and focus on getting my hits. Some of the guys are Todd Jarrett wannabees, but not me. I'm quite happy to just get thru the stages. Heck, it's supposed to be FUN!

Could the issue be with the crowd you're shooting with? Some guys are really gung ho about the sport, ya know. It can get a little overbearing.