1911 Forums : 1911Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally found an older Para P16 .40 to convert to 10mm. I still want to be able to shoot .40 so I went with an additional barrel for the conversion.
This is the project gun.

I have ordered mostly Ed Brown parts for this project... Slide Stop, Tactical Safety, Flat mainspring housing, Extended beavertail, .40 barrel that I will have reamed to 10mm and Wolf 20# recoil spring.

Am I missing anything? If anyone has experience with this conversion I would appreciate some info.

I will of course post pics of the project as it moves along.

·
Premium Member
5,072 Posts
I have no experience with it but I am interrested in how it goes, looks like a nice project.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Things are moving along. I decided to get a little more involved than I was comfortable doing myself so I took the gun to T&F Firearms in Thomasville Ga. ( my local smith and Class III dealer) Here is the progress as of Tuesday. Pay no attention to the date stamp on the pics.

All the parts finally came in. The lower barrel is the Ed Brown I'm having reamed to 10mm (It almost didn't need fitting)

Since I'm having an Ed Brown beaver tail fitted I will have to get the gun refinished. I'm thinking two tone Black over O.D. Green.

So far so good, this is going to make this gun much more comfortable to shoot.

That's it for now, more in the days to come.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Here is the finished project. I didn't get much interest in this gun but I like to finish what I start so here she is.
The Ed Brown barrel needed just a little fitting but it came with instructions an after just a few passes with a file it locked up perfect. The only other issue I had was the gun didn't feed properly so we shaved a little metal off the top of the factory mags and everything just came together.