1911 Forums : 1911Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

I've been hanging around here for a while and have decided to order a #35 from Bob. But there are two things that I still could not decide. First of all is whether I should go with fixed sight or adjustable sight? I am not sure if I will use it as a carry gun yet because I have my USP compact 45 as my carry piece. I have no experience with adjustable sights and frankly not sure how to use them. So I am asking for suggestions and advices from the members here. Are adjustable sights strictly for target guns? What about for carry guns?

The other thing is the extended mag-well. I thought that is more for a competition gun, but I have seen a few members here put that on their carry guns. Again, any pros and cons? Is that extra length going to be a problem when you are trying to conceal your gun? I don't think I need it but I have seen a black mag-well on a ION DLC black 1911 and it looks really sharp :smile:

Thanks!

·
Registered
747 Posts
Hi there, and welcome:wavey: I think a fusion is a great choice. As for your question regarding sights, I prefer fixed sights, especially if you are going to carry the gun. There are some adjustable sights that are built "tough" for carry. However, as long as my fixed sights are the right height, and in the right horizontal position (proper windage), I see no reason for adjustable sights. BTW: adjustable sights are usually adjusted by small dials with a screw driver for elevation and windage. This can come in handy for adjusting for different loads. However, I am usually just fine with fixed sights. Plus, I generally think fixed sights look better on the pistol (especially 1911's).