1911 Forums : 1911Talk banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I just signed on here. I am new to owning a 1911, I just bought my first one about a month ago, it is a High Standard Crusader Compact in 45 acp.

I really enjoy shooting the little gun, it is very fair on accuracy, fits my hand good and has an awesome trigger pull. I just wish it held more than 7 rounds in the mag.

Since I bought this, I have learned much about 1911's and I really think they are the perfect side-arm.

here is my baby.

·
Registered
4,029 Posts
Welcome to the Forum and Very nice

Does this have Series 80 Firing Pin Block stuff in it ?

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have no idea what that is.

The manual said that the firing pin is designed shorter than the housing that it is in, and that the hammer must strike the pin to overcome the the strength of the spring to cause the pin to strike the primer. That is the cliffnotes version anyway. I don't have the manual with me right now. Hope I answered your question.

So what is this series 80 firing pin blocker stuff you are talking about.

·
Registered
4,029 Posts
there are some extra levers in a series 80 gun

Everything in red is series 80 stuff

it uses a diff firing pin and pin stop than a normal 1911 also

·
Premium Member
1,556 Posts
That is a nice pistol...and I must be getting behind the times. I didnt know Hi Standard made 1911's. But then I am still learning about these things...and there is alot I dont know.
I have a couple of old Hi Standard 22 wheelguns...

·
Premium Member
1,556 Posts
I have no idea what that is.

The manual said that the firing pin is designed shorter than the housing that it is in, and that the hammer must strike the pin to overcome the the strength of the spring to cause the pin to strike the primer. That is the cliffnotes version anyway. I don't have the manual with me right now. Hope I answered your question.