1911 Forums : 1911Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Picked up a stainless, new Sig 1911 early last week from Bud's. After finding various 1911 forums a few months ago, I figured if I was going to pick up an addition to my Sig 228, it was going to be a .45. So yes, I'm a 1911 noob but have been around firearms for several years.

After receiving my new hand cannon, I closely looked it over and was impressed with the slide fit, finish, slide action, trigger,etc. While I'm not here to discuss this part of the handgun, I must say it's a nice addition. The Novak night sights are a nice feature IMO as well.

After picking up two Wilson 47D's, two boxes of WWB, a box of Independence 230gr. hardball, two boxes of Monarch 230gr over the past 10 days, I was ready to hit the range today.

A five minute drive and I found myself to be the only shooter at the local indoor range. It's been over 10 years since I've fired a 1911--I forgot how much fun they are. Slamming the 47D home filled with WWB, which have been sitting loaded for a week at the advice of this forum and others, the first nine rounds were smooth as silk.

After about 10 mags down range with a mix of the aforementioned rounds, not a single hiccup. Out of the box, for me at least, this 1911 is more accurate than my 228.

My last mag, I pinned up a new target, wheeled it out to ~15-16 yards, and decided to see what I could do. Keeping in mind I'm not a competitive shooter, for the first time out, I'm happy with a 4" group clearing the mag in ~12secs.

Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase. No FTF with three brands of ammo with over 100 rounds down range. Now I just need to practice my grip with the larger frame (than the 228 I'm used to) and live up to how accurate I feel this Sig is. Two inch groups coming soon ;)

Just thought I'd share.

·
Registered
9 Posts