1911 Forums : 1911Talk banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I though a thread on Colts chambered in Super .38 might be a good idea.
I started shooting, reloading, and then casting for the Super a few years back and my love affair was born.
Though factory ammunition is somewhat anemic the Super really shines at the reloading bench.
Beginning in 1929 the .38 Automatic was improved upon into the Super .38 Automatic then just the Super .38 (as I understand the story). I have really begun to like the round.
Here are my 3 Supers. Colt Special Combat Government, Colt Series 80 Gold Cup Elite (A Gold Cup National Match), and 1991 (NRM).

Though this is not mine she has a nice home at the Hartford State library.
Serial number 1 Colt Super .38. I offered to check it out for the library staff but they told me it was taken care of.:biggrin:

·
Registered
160 Posts
What do you know- I was just thinking about stirring up a 38 Super thread a couple of days ago.
Or, Super 38, if you prefer (Colt has used both names, so I do too).

I don't have that much experience with the round, but I liked it from the first time I heard about it. That was probably from reading a Skeeter Skelton story about some south of the border trip to either chase criminals, trade guns, or both.

I got my first one about ten years ago. It was an ex-IPSC gun with a compensator. I wasn't shooting IPSC then, but I got it for a deal since it was a dinosaur in that sport due to not having a red dot sight and was "only" a single stack frame.
But it was fun to shoot groundhogs with and I did start shooting a little IPSC with it.

I had always wanted a "regular" Colt 38 Super for a carry gun or just to play around with, but didn't get one until last year. Actually, I got two within a few days. I bought a new production stainless Gov't and a mid-90's blued Enhanced Gov't.
Shown here with the grips they came to me with: