1911 Forums : 1911Talk banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
747 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys. I have no experience what so ever with loading my own, but I have a load in mind that I'm wondering about. However, I don't know if it is possible. What I have in mind would be suitable (though maybe on the weak side) for critter control out of a 1911. I would be very interested in a .45acp round loaded with hard cast pills of somewhere between 230 & 260 grains at 1000 fps. Basically duplicating the most powerful standard pressure .45colt rounds. Now I realize that this would have to be +P or +P+, which is doable. I'm just affraid the OAL of the cartridge would be too long with such bullets. Does anyone with reloading experience know if such a round is possible? I think it would make a decent "woods round" for black bear and mountain lion. I know it wouldn't be ideal, but it would up the anti of the .45acp and could be carried in our beloved 1911. If anyone can load such a round, You may be able to make a little money selling it to fellow mwmbers such as myself :wink:.

·
Premium Member
1,556 Posts
Sorry guys, I just realized after I posted this that there is a section for reloading topics. Please feel free to move it. i appologize :confused:
Done:smile:

·
Premium Member
1,556 Posts
That may be possible with a 230 grain slug...but I don't think 1000 fps with a 260 grain slug will work...Unless you set it up for 45 Super (that MAY work...I don't know)
tsp45acp (Tracy) shoots pins with 255 grain bullets...so he may be able to help you with the OAL and load data.

·
Registered
747 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the reply and for moving the thread. I figure that the length of a heavier (255 grain) projectile might not work in the magazines or chamber of a .45acp. if it can be done though, it would be a pretty potent load! I think with hard cast bullets it would have very respectable penetration.

·
Premium Member
1,556 Posts