1911 Forums : 1911Talk banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, found the forum looking for information on different 1911 compacts. I'm shopping for a 3-3.5" barrel 1911 for carry, trying to stay under $600, curious if anyone here owns and carries the Springfield GI Micro. Its only a few more $ than other brands.

·
Premium Member
1,367 Posts
I had one, spent more time trying to fix the FTE's and FTF's than I did shooting it. 1911s were designed to be a 5 inch gun. That's all I'll have.

·
Registered
78 Posts
I'm not quite as conservative as gottriplets is. I might consider a nice bobtailed commander for CCW work. I did get to put my hands on one of the micro-compact bi-tones this weekend. That particular model runs about $1100 bucks though. It felt pretty nice. I didn't get to shoot it. I'll have to ask my buddy how it ran.

3" 1911s seem to be really sensetive about springs and require more frequent recoil spring changes. The Springfield micro runs dual springs and they are a bit more expensive to replace than a GI spring. Not that you should be deterred from buying a pistol by recoil spring cost.

·
Premium Member
1,556 Posts
I myself have only owned one compact 1911...a Para WartHog.

It was best described as a single shot with a large ammo storage compartment...

It may not be what you want to hear...but I have to suggest that you save your $$$ a while longer and look at some of the "CCO" types (4.25" barrel on an officers frame) that are becoming available...they are a bit more expensive, but you will be MUCH happier in the end.

Examples:
Dan Wesson's new CCO (aluminum frame)
Sig C3

There may be a few others too....those are 2 that came to mind.

My opinion may be a tad biased though...my pistol, a Baer Stinger is on this configuration and I find it to be perfect (for me at least)

·
Premium Member
1,556 Posts
I just remembered...Smith & Wesson has a 1911 you may like...its the SW1911 compact ES.